Friday Five: Day in the Life Reprise

Today it’s a double-whammy, a two-fer, double linkup trouble. It’s Friday so it’s my regular linkup with Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC and Mar from Mar on the Run with a Friday Five. But there’s also a bonus because I’m doing a Day in the Life theme. In September, Jill and Angela hosted a Day in the Life linkup – bloggers wrote a post about a day in their life and linked up with each other. It was fun to see what other people’s days were like. I wrote one that you can find here. They announced another Day in the Life theme for today, and since I really enjoyed the first one, I decided to do a hybrid Friday Five/Day in the Life!

INTRO: I chronicled Thursday/yesterday, my first day back at work since having surgery two weeks ago. And like a typical over-doer, I worked a 13-hour day. Real smart, Cynthia. I’ve been in my bed all or part of every day for two weeks and today I went and worked the full workday plus a concert in the evening. Dumb. I figured I’d be sitting at my desk or in meetings all day, and then I’d start the concert and go back to sitting. Ha-HA! – the universe played a trick on me! You’ll see if you read on…

So today I give you Five Moments In My Thursday!

1. WAKEY WAKEY!

The alarm sounded at 7am. After two weeks of sleeping in, I was so un-awake that I washed my hair with shampoo and then conditioned it with body wash. Um, that took a while to wash out! I spent extra time on my hair since the body wash made the texture super weird.

2013-12-19 13.21.40

I fed the kids, and our au pair walked my daughter to school with the boys in tow. Bye, kids, have a great day!

2013-12-19 08.51.24

2. OFF TO WORK!

My wonderful dad drove to me to work. Thanks, Dad!

2013-12-19 09.22.55

I commute into DC every day and I’m lucky that I get to see the Washington Monument daily on my drive. It’s out of its scaffolding but this truck blocked your lovely picture.

2013-12-19 09.40.47

3. THE WORK DAY!

I sat at my desk, I sat in meetings. I was overwhelmed with catching up on work after two weeks off.

I brought leftover Thai food for lunch, which tasted way better than its first appearance as mediocre restaurant food yesterday. Maybe it just needed to mellow and blend a bit in its flavor. It wasn’t a lot so I had apples to go with it.

2013-12-19 12.06.20

I tried and tried to resist temptation from holiday chocolates that were literally everywhere in the office. And I succeeded.

2013-12-19 12.07.22

Confession: I succeeded with those chocolates, but we won’t talk about the caramel popcorn and holiday cookie…

I did minor surgery on my stapler using a letter opener and pliers. This could have ended very, very badly.

2013-12-19 13.05.44

But thankfully it was a success – I fixed it.

4. THE CONCERT!

2013-12-19 13.05.09

I figured I’d sit at my desk all day, then go backstage and start the concert, then sit down once it started. The universe decided that I should be taught a lesson and jinxed me for saying it was going to be an “easy” night for my first day back.

Why? A bomb threat at the Swedish Embassy meant that many roads were closed in DC and it was nearly impossible for people to get to the concert.

2013-12-20 00.23.44

Lots of running around and coordinating. Not much sitting. It was crazy.

5. GOODNIGHT!

Thank goodness my dad was driving me home, because I was toast by the end of the concert. I got home at 11pm and poured wine immediately (yes, into a jelly jar).

2013-12-19 23.08.20

And practically fell asleep in my clothes.

2013-12-19 23.08.57

I got into bed with my wine, laptop, heating pad, and the aforementioned pillow pet (I think I’ll name him/her Buggy).

IMG_20131219_233242

I’m going to try to scale back today and not overdo it. And maybe, just maybe, I will wear comfy pants instead of a suit to work today.

So link up your Friday Five here:

Friday Five Linkup with Eat Pray Run, DC and Mar on the Run!

DC_linkup

Or head on over to Jill or Angela’s blogs to link up your Day in the Life!

DayinthelifeButton_WEB

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell me about your day!

10 thoughts on “Friday Five: Day in the Life Reprise

  1. That sounds like a nutty first day back! Yowza! My day yesterday involved an awful, crazy busy and stressful day of work, which ended at 3pm as we then had our company Christmas party at the hotel next door. We had a decent time there (the lights went out twice for some reason and it was REALLY loud and hot) with yummy food and raffle prizes. I won a $25 gift card to Cheesecake Factory which ended things nicely! 🙂

  2. LOOOONNNG first day back, lady! I had a busy day as well, so nothing nearly as stressful. Work, then track (with Mar!) then dinner w/a friend. It was a major accomplishment for me to make it from my couch to my bed last night — so tired. Hope you get home early tonight!

  3. Woah you really took that first day back by storm! I’m sorry about the body wash incident, but I have to admit it made me giggle. I love your wine glass and your pillow pet. (I have one too…he’s a unicorn and very snuggly.) I hope you have a nice relaxing evening tonight and a great weekend!

  4. What a crazy first day back, hope your second day is going much easier on you.

    Love your wine glass, I’ve been known to use my son’s juice glass so there will be no judgement from me 🙂

  5. I’m not sure buggy is the best name. You would have to tell people you fell asleep on buggy and they would wonder… lol. Sounds like a busy day for you!

Talk to me - what do you think?